Senators introduce alternative cybersecurity bill

Eight senators today are introducing an alternative version of a comprehensive cybersecurity bill. The lawmakers, including Senators John McCain. (R-Ariz.), Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), and Dan Coats (R-Ind.) believe the legislation, called the Strengthening and Enhancing Cybersecurity by Using Research, Education, Information, and Technology Act, or SECURE IT, would be more collaborative and less regulatory than a bill introduced in February.

The sponsors of that bill, Sens. Joseph Lieberman (I-Conn.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.) and Diane Feinstein (D-Calif.), wrote a letter yesterday to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) urging them to bring the Cybersecurity Act of 2012 to the floor for debate as soon as possible.

This story is part of Federal News Radio’s daily Cybersecurity Update. For more cybersecurity news, click here.