Carolyn W. Colvin

Deputy Commissioner of Social Security

On December 22, 2010, the United States Senate confirmed President Obama’s nomination of Carolyn W. Colvin as Deputy Commissioner of Social Security to a term that expires on January 19, 2013. In addition to her role as the Deputy Commissioner of Social Security and the agency’s Chief Operating Officer, Ms. Colvin serves on the President’s Management Council and as the Secretary to the Social Security Board of Trustees.

Throughout her career, Ms. Colvin has managed programs that help people with their healthcare and financial needs. She previously held key executive positions at Social Security Headquarters: Deputy Commissioner for Policy and External Affairs (1994-1996), Deputy Commissioner for Programs and Policy (1996-1998), and Deputy Commissioner for Operations (1998-2001). Prior to returning to SSA, Ms. Colvin was the Secretary of Maryland’s Department of Human Resources (1989-1994); the Director of the Montgomery County Department of Health and Human Services (2001-2003); the Chief Executive Officer of AMERIGROUP Community Care of the District of Columbia (2007-2008); and, the Special Assistant to the Secretary of Maryland’s Department of Transportation (2009-2011).

Ms. Colvin has received numerous awards and recognition for her managerial expertise and creativity, including Maryland’s Top 100 Women Award from the Daily Record (2005) and the Women of Achievement Award from Suburban Maryland Business and Professional Women (2005). She has served on a variety of boards and commissions, such as Arundel Community Development Services and the National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare. Ms. Colvin earned her graduate and undergraduate degrees in business administration from Morgan State University. Additionally, she completed the Senior Executives in State and Local Government Program at Harvard University, the Maryland Leadership Program, and the Greater Baltimore Leadership Program. Ms. Colvin is from Maryland and currently resides in Anne Arundel County. She has one son and six grandchildren.