DorobekInsider: GSA’s Dorris, Army’s Sorenson, HP’s Hempfield earn AFCEA Bethesda award nods

The second annual AFCEA Bethesda, MD Chapter Government-wide Initiatives Excellence Awards have been announced.

The three big winners:

* Outstanding Achievement Award – Civilian Government: GSA’s Martha Dorris
* Outstanding Achievement Award – Defense Department: Army CIO LTG Jeffrey Sorenson
* Outstanding Industry Award: HP Federal vice president Tom Hempfield

They also have a strong of other winners, including EPA’s Jeff Levy and Steve Ressler, a DHS employee and the founder of GovLoop among others.

Download our free ebook to find out how agency CIOs and CHCOs implementing the president's reorganization executive order.


The full list can be found here [PDF] or below.

The awards will be handed out on May 27 at the Willard InterContinental Hotel in Washington, D.C. More information and registration is here .

AFCEA Bethesda Chapter Government-wide Initiatives Excellence
Award Winners for 2009

Awards to an individual or group of individuals (group award)who have made significant contributions to activities which have significance beyond their agency or organization and provide efficiencies, effectiveness, or otherwise support Government-wide initiatives in an outstanding manner.

Wednesday, May 27, 2009
AFCEA Bethesda Chapter
Annual Excellence Awards Luncheon
Willard InterContinental Hotel
Washington, D.C.

Registration and Information: click here

CIO shakeup at Treasury sign of similar moves at other agencies?

Outstanding Achievement Award – Civilian Government

This is AFCEA Bethesda Chapter’s highest civilian Government award presented to the civilian Government leader who has exemplified outstanding management to achieve efficiencies, effectiveness and provide leadership to formulate Government-wide initiatives in an outstanding manner that achieve results for our citizens.

Martha A. Dorris
Deputy Associate Administrator
Office of Citizen Services and Communications
General Services Administration (GSA)

Outstanding Achievement Award – Department of Defense

AFCEA Bethesda Chapter’s highest Department of Defense award presented to a Department of Defense leader who has exemplified outstanding management to achieve government-wide efficiencies and program effectiveness. In addition this award honors proven leadership in delivering demonstrable results for our warfighters and the nation.

LTG Jeffrey Sorenson
Chief Information Officer/G-6
US Department of the Army

Outstanding Industry Award
AFCEA Bethesda Chapter’s highest Industry award presented to a business executive who has made Government a priority in their business and delivered outstanding contributions to government-wide initiatives.

Tom Hempfield
Vice President
HP Federal

Five Pillar Awards
Awards in Recognition of the Highest Level of Achievement in the areas known as the “OMB Five Pillars”. This recognition is for work performed during 2008 – 2009 which demonstrated prior accomplishments supportive of the new OMB areas of focus. This category series was established this year in support of the OMB, Office of eGovernment and Information Technology.

I. Lowering the Cost of Government Award (Improving the Management of Government)

Adam Goldberg
Acting Comptroller
Office of Financial Management
Office of Management and Budget (OMB)

II. Transparency Award – Open Government

Linda Travers
Acting Assistant Administrator
Office of Environmental Information
Michael Flynn
Acting Deputy Assistant Administrator,
Office of Environmental Information

III. Engaging Citizens Award (to include Collaboration and Openness)
Co-chairs of the Social Media Committee, Federal Web Managers Council
Jeffrey Levy (Editor’s note: Levy was one on Federal News Radio 1500 AM’s Meet the Innovator series. Hear that conversation here.)
Director of Web Communications
Office of Public Affairs
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Joyce Bounds
Director for Veterans Health Administration’s Web Communications Office Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

IV. Innovation Award
Kirit Amin
Chief Information Officer Bureau of Consular Affairs
Director – Office of Consular Systems and Technology
US Department of State (DoS CA)

V. Safe Computing Environment
Melissa Hathaway
Acting Senior Director for Cyberspace
National Security and Homeland Security Councils

Government-wide Initiative Awards:

Green Computing: Environmental Stewardship Award
William (Will) Garvey
Interagency Environmental Leadership Workingroup
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Technology Management Award
Darius Taylor
Deputy Associate Chief Information Officer
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)

Government-wide Enterprise Architecture Award
Kshemendra Paul
Chief Architect
Office of eGovernment and Information Technology
Office of Management and Budget (OMB)

Health Information Systems Award
Tommy J. Morris
Acting Director
Office of Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense
for Force Health Protection & Readiness Programs
Department of Defense (DOD)

Social Media Award

Steve Ressler

Industry Award
Presented to the business executive who has made outstanding contributions to government-wide initiatives
Tom Hempfield
Vice President
HP Federal

Special Recognition Award for Outstanding Contributions to Aid in the Country’s Economic Recovery
John Murphy V1.0 Operations Manager
General Services Administration (GSA)
Dominic K. Sale –
eGov Portfolio Manager
Office of Management and Budget (OMB)

These awards will be presented at the
AFCEA Bethesda Chapter Annual Excellence Awards Luncheon
Wednesday, May 27, 2009
Willard InterContinental Hotel
Washington, D.C.